I should have known that… part two

unfriendA couple of months ago I wrote a post about some of those little things on your Facebook profile you feel like you should know, but then you look at and realise you haven’t the foggiest. I’m sure Facebook used to be intuitive back in the heady days of 2005 but it doesn’t always feel like that now…

Anyway, no blog post about Facebook is ever going to be exhaustive so here are a few more things to add to said list.

Q: How do I unfriend someone on Facebook?

A: Go to the profile of the person you want to unfriend. Find the little arrow button at the bottom of their cover photo, on the right. Click the arrow.  You’ll get a drop-down list of options. At the bottom of this list you’ll see ‘unfriend’.

Q: Will the person be notified that I’ve unfriended them?

A: No. They won’t be notified, and they won’t know anything about it unless they happen to go on your profile and see that you’re no longer friends. But if they’re the sort of person who is likely to do that and you don’t want them to have even the slightest clue, your best bet would be to add them to your acquaintances list so you see less of them in your newsfeed, or even hide all their updates. Then add them to a restricted list so that they only ever see your public updates. Find out how to do all this here.

Q: Who can see my photos?

A: This entirely depends on the settings of the person who added the photos. If a friend adds a picture of you, their post will follow their own privacy settings. Typically a photo will be visible to the friend list of both the person who added it and the people who have been tagged, so if you don’t want to automatically have your photos appear to all make sure you review photos people tag of you in your Activity Log. To see your Activity Log, go to your profile and it’s the second main button on the right side at the bottom of your cover photo.

Q: How do I set the audience on my own posts/photos?

Every time you post a status update or a picture you have the option to set the audience – it will display in the status box as an option to the left of the ‘post’ button. To set your default audience view (eg if you want only a certain list to see everything), go to your privacy settings – it’s the little ‘lock’ icon in the top right-hand corner next to the gear icon. Click it and you’ll get a drop-down list which shows you what your privacy settings are. You can change them here.

Q: What about my old posts? How do I make sure they’re not public?

As above, go to your privacy settings and at the bottom of the drop-down list click ‘see more settings.’ From there you can select to ‘limit past posts.’ There’s more information about what this means here.

Q: I keep seeing this post about Facebook taking away the ‘who can look up your profile by name’ option. What does this mean?

A: It means that anyone who types your name into the search box in Facebook will be able to find your profile now – before, if you used this feature, you could restrict this. Now, the way to restrict what people see is by using the privacy settings as detailed above. If you’ve got everything switched to Friends Only, for example, someone who finds your profile who isn’t a friend will only see that information which is public. Note, this refers to search within Facebook only, not all search engines. More information here.

Q: My profile does/doesn’t show in Google search results – why/why not?

A: This is also something you can set under your privacy settings. As above, go to ‘see more settings’ and you’ll see an option at the bottom of the list saying, ‘Do you want other search engines to link to your timeline?’ Note the ‘other’ means search engines in addition to Facebook’s Graph Search, so basically Google but also Bing and whatever else people may be using at undisclosed time in the future. Make sure the box is checked or unchecked depending on whether or not you want people to be able to find your Facebook profile in Google search and the like.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s